Registration of a Non-Government School - Australian Capital Territory

Service summary

You will require in-principle approval if you intend to apply for registration of a new non-government school, or an additional campus or additional educational levels for an existing non-government school.

Please use the contact details below to find out more information.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for the registration of a new school you must first receive in-principle approval of your plans. If you are granted in-principle approval, you may then apply for provisional registration, once your school is provisionally registered you may apply for registration.

If you already operate a registered non-government school you may apply for registration of an additional campus or educational year level. The process is similar to the registration of a new school outlined above. However, you are not required to seek provisional registration before applying to be registered.

Factors that will be considered during the registration process include the:

  • Established policies, facilities and equipment;
  • Intended curriculum;
  • Safety and welfare of students;
  • Nature and content of courses offered in comparison with government school courses; and
  • Financial viability of your school.

Please be aware you must also have developed a process that ensures you maintain an accurate record of students enrolled at your school.

Please consult the Contact Officer for more information regarding eligibility requirements.


In-principle approval: two years. Provisional registration: two years. Registration: up to five years.



You do not need to pay any fees.



Application for Registration of Non-Government School - Please consult the Contact Officer for information on forms to be submitted.



Please lodge your application and associated documentation directly with the Agency.

Administering agency

Education Directorate

Act(s) name

Education Act 2004 (Australian Capital Territory)

Contact details

Manager, Liason Unit
Education Directorate
Education Directorate
Non Government Schools Office
Education Directorate
The Children's Education and Care Assurance (CECA)
Education Directorate
Board of Senior Secondary Studies
Education Directorate
Training and Tertiary Education

Operating address:
220 Northbourne Avenue
Australian Capital Territory 2612
Mailing address:
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory 2601


02 6207 5111

Supporting information


The information contained on the Australian Business Licence and Information Service (ABLIS) web site, or via packages or other sources is intended for general guidance only.

To the full extent permitted by law, the Federal, State, Territory and Local Governments make no representations or warranties (expressed or implied) in relation to the information, including its accuracy, currency or completeness.

The business information provided does not constitute professional or legal advice, nor is the use of any third party resource an endorsement of the information contained, the associated organisation, product or service. It is recommended that you obtain appropriate professional and /or independent legal advice to ensure that the material provided here is relevant to your particular circumstances.

To the full extent permitted by law the Federal, State, Territory and Local Governments, their employees and agents do not accept any liability for any reason, including without limitation, liability in negligence, to any person for the general information which is provided herein, or in respect of anything, including the consequences of anything done, or not done, by any such person in whole or partial reliance upon the information.