Stamp Duty Information Sheet - Northern Territory


Stamp Duty is payable on various instruments and transactions including certain leases of land, conveyance of dutiable property and deeds.

Dutiable property includes, land, mining tenements, plant and equipment (when purchased with other dutiable property), statutory business licences, goodwill, and intellectual rights such as business names, trademarks, copyrights and patents.

Motor vehicle traders may be eligible for an exemption of stamp duty for vehicles sold as part of their ordinary business.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.


Variable, depending on nature of transaction

Act(s) name

Stamp Duty Act 1978 NT

Administering agency

Territory Revenue Office (Commissioner of Territory Revenue)

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Revenue Officer

Operating address: Level 14, Charles Darwin Centre
19 Smith Street, The Mall
Darwin NT 0800
Mailing address: GPO Box 154
Darwin NT 0801
Phone: 1300305353
Fax: 0889995577
Website: (Opens in new window)