Register as a Nurse or Midwife - Australian Capital Territory


You need to be registered to practise as a nurse or midwife in Australia. The following titles are protected and you must be registered to use them:

  • nurse
  • enrolled nurse
  • registered nurse
  • nurse practitioner
  • midwife
  • midwife practitioner.

You can only use the above protected titles if you have the relevant qualifications and expertise.

The types of activities considered a part of nursing or midwifery may be updated or changed from time to time.

There are five different types of registration offered to practitioners:

  • general
  • provisional
  • limited
  • non-practising
  • student.

There are three endorsements available for practitioners with additional qualifications and expertise:

  • nurse practitioner (for registered nurses only)
  • registered nurse - supply scheduled medicines (rural and isolated practice)
  • midwife - prescribe schedule medicines.

Please use the contact details below to find out more information.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for registration you must:

  • hold an approved qualification
  • meet the requirements stated in the registration standards.

Please consult the Contact Officer for more information regarding eligibility requirements.


One year


30 November


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application All

Fees are listed on the attached document.

Act(s) name

Health Practitioner Regulation National Law (ACT) Act 2010 Australian Capital Territory

Administering agency

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.