Aircraft Welding Authority - Australian Government


You will need this authority if you intend to carry out manual welding on, or relating to, an aircraft.

The types of manual welding approved are:

  • Gas welding (Type 1)
  • Braze welding (Type 2)
  • Manual metal arc welding (Type 3)
  • Gas tungsten arc welding (Type 4)
  • Gas metal arc welding (Type 5)
  • Plasma arc welding (Type 6).

The parent metal groups approved are:

  • Aluminium alloys (Group 1)
  • Magnesium alloys (Group 2)
  • Carbon steel and low alloy steels (Group 3)
  • Corrosion and heat resisting steels (Group 4)
  • Nickel alloys (Group 5)
  • Copper-based alloys (Group 6)
  • Titanium alloys (Group 7).

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for this authorisation, you must:

  • pass the aircraft welding examinations
  • complete welding training in the type of manual welding on the parent metal group to which the application relates.

Please note that a relevant qualification from the Australian Defence Force is deemed the equivalent of welding training.


As specified


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Amount Description
Apply Application All $130.00

Fee per hour spent on the inspection and assessment of the application. Fees for 2021-22

Act(s) name

Civil Aviation Act 1988 Australian Government

Regulation(s) name

Civil Aviation Regulations 1988 Australian Government

Administering agency

Civil Aviation Safety Authority

Industry Permissions

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.