Authorised Deposit-Taking Institutions Prudential Standards - Australian Government


You must comply with these standards if you operate an authorised deposit-taking institution (ADI). The Agency has enacted a collection of prudential standards to ensure ADIs are operated appropriately. ADIs can include:

  • banks
  • building societies
  • credit unions.

The standards require ADIs to adopt prudent practice in relation to:

  • measurement of capital
  • credit risk
  • operational risk
  • market risk
  • interest rate risk
  • securitisation
  • covered Bonds
  • liquidity
  • credit quality
  • large exposures
  • related entities
  • outsourcing
  • business continuity management
  • risk management of credit card activities
  • audit and related matters
  • public disclosure
  • governance
  • purchased payment facilities
  • financial claims scheme.

Service type

Code of Practice

A code of practice is a set of rules which details how people in a certain industry should behave. A code of practice can be defined as a result of legislation or by industry regulators and bodies.

Act(s) name

Banking Act 1959 Australian Government

Administering agency

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.