Guidelines for the Classification of Publications 2005 - Australian Government


You may be required to comply with these guidelines if you intend to make a publication. A publication is any written or pictorial matter that isn't a film, computer game or advertisement of a film or computer game.

There are four types of classifications for publications. These are:

  • unrestricted
  • category 1 restricted
  • category 2 restricted
  • refused classification (RC).

Certain publications, whether they are locally made or come from overseas, have to be classified before they can be sold, distributed or advertised in Australia. When making its classification decisions, the Board is required to reflect contemporary community standards and must apply criteria which are set out in the National Classification Code (the Code).

The guidelines describe in more detail the scope and limits of material suitable for each classification category.

Please consult the Contact Officer for more information and to ascertain the level of compliance (if any) that may be required.

Service type

Code of Practice

A code of practice is a set of rules which details how people in a certain industry should behave. A code of practice can be defined as a result of legislation or by industry regulators and bodies.

Other resources

Act(s) name

Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Act 1995 Australian Government

Regulation(s) name

Classification (Publications, Films and Computer Games) Regulations 2005 Australian Government

Administering agency

Department of Communications and the Arts

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

General Enquiries

Department of Communications and the Arts

Operating address: Nishi Building
2 Phillip Law Street
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory 2601
Mailing address: GPO BOX 2154
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory 2601
Toll Free: 1800 254 649
Phone: 02 6271 1000