Translator and Interpreter Certification - Australian Government


The National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) is the national authority for translators and interpreters in Australia. They are responsible for certification and providing national standards.

NAATI is the only body to issue certification to practitioners in this profession. Many employers and service providers expect practitioners to have certification, and it allows practitioners to quickly and easily demonstrate their ability.

Certification tests include:

  • Recognised Practising
  • Certified Translator
  • Certified Provisional Interpreter
  • Certified Provisional AUSLAN Interpreter
  • Certified Provisional Deaf Interpreter
  • Certified Provisional Interpreter - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages
  • Certified Interpreter
  • Certified AUSLAN Interpreter
  • Certified Specialist Health Interpreter
  • Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter
  • AUSLAN Certified Specialist Health Interpreter
  • AUSLAN Certified Specialist Legal Interpreter
  • Certified Conference Interpreter.

Service type

Advisory Material

Advisory material provides advice and guidance in undertaking a business.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for certification, you must:

  • complete the relevant interpreter or translator training, preferably in a NAATI endorsed qualification
  • demonstrate English language proficiency
  • demonstrate ethical competency and intercultural competency
  • pass a certification test.


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application All

Please consult the Contact Officer for information on fees to be submitted.

Other resources

Task Business Structure Resources
Apply All Certification Tests (Opens in new window)

Administering agency

National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.