Approval of University / Higher Education Providers - Northern Territory


All new universities, interstate universities and new and existing non-university higher education providers operating and offering courses leading to Australian higher education qualifications in the Northern Territory are required to obtain approval through the Department of Education and Training.

Approval is required for the:

  • establishment or recognition of new universities
  • operation of overseas higher education institutions
  • offering of higher education courses by institutions other than universities
  • operation of interstate universities in the NT.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

Please contact the agency to identify any eligibility requirements.


Five years


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Amount Description
Apply Application All $52948.00 Fee for the establishment and recognition of Universities in NT. Fees for 2021-22


Administering agency

Department of Education

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

Department of Education

Northern Territory
Operating address: Mitchell Centre
55 - 59 Mitchell Street
Darwin, Northern Territory 0801
Contact us other: 08 8999 6684