Food Safety Management Tools - Northern Territory


Food service, catering and related retail businesses in Australia need to meet new food safety requirements in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code).

Standard 3.2.2A is a new food safety standard for these types of businesses that aims to improve food safety and support consumer confidence.

The Food Safety Standard requires certain food businesses to have:

  • a food safety supervisor
  • staff trained in food safety
  • evidence of compliance with parts of the existing food safety standard.

All affected food businesses (category one and two businesses) must appoint a Food Safety Supervisor and implement food handler training. Category one businesses must also be able to show that their food is safe.

Category one businesses handle unpackaged high-risk food and serve it to customers ready for consumption without any further processing. Category one businesses include:

  • restaurants
  • takeaways
  • bakeries
  • cafes
  • market stalls
  • mobile food traders.

Category two businesses handle unpacked high-risk food and sell it to customers. Category two businesses include:

  • delis
  • seafood retailers
  • supermarkets
  • butchers.

Service type

Regulatory Obligation

An obligation defined in law. A business must comply with relevant services.

Other resources

Administering agency

Department of Health

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.