Water Drilling Licence - Northern Territory


You will need this licence if you intend to drill for water in the Northern Territory.

There are 3 classes of licence:

  • Class 1 (Single non flowing aquifer systems)
  • Class 1R (Single non flowing aquifer systems, restricted to geotech and monitoring bores to a maximum 30m depth)
  • Class 2 (Multiple non flowing aquifer systems)
  • Class 3 (Flowing aquifer systems including the Great Artesian Basin)
  • Class 3R (Flowing aquifer systems excluding the Great Artesian Basin).

You can apply to upgrade your drilling licence. You must have the relevant qualifications for each licence.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.


5 years.


Please check with the agency for information on fees to be submitted.


Administering agency

Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

Executive Officer - Darwin

Department of Environment, Parks and Water Security

Operating address: 4th Floor, Goyder Building
25 Chung Wah Terrace
Palmerston NT 0831
Mailing address: PO Box 496
Palmerston NT 0831
Phone: 0889738832
Email: water.Licensing@nt.gov.au
Website: https://nt.gov.au/environment/water (Opens in new window)