Building code of Australia - Queensland


You will need to comply with the Building Code Australia (BCA) if you intend to design or construct new buildings or undertake work in existing buildings within Australia. The BCA Volume 1 sets out requirements for Class 2 to 9 buildings, which includes commercial, industrial and multi-residential buildings. The BCA Volume 2 sets out requirements for Class 1 and 10 buildings, which includes houses, sheds and carports.

The BCA is contained within the National Construction Code and sets out the minimum necessary requirements for safety, health, amenity and sustainability in the design and construction of new and existing buildings throughout Australia.

Service type

Code of Practice

A code of practice is a set of rules which details how people in a certain industry should behave. A code of practice can be defined as a result of legislation or by industry regulators and bodies.

Other resources

Task Business Structure Resources
Comply All National construction code (Opens in new window)

Administering agency

Queensland Building and Construction Commission

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

Customer Contact Centre

Queensland Building and Construction Commission

Operating address: 299 Montague Road
West End, Queensland 4101
Mailing address: GPO BOX 5099
Brisbane, Queensland 4001
Phone: 13 93 33
Fax: 07 3225 2999
Contact us website: Regional service centres (Opens in new window)
Website: Queensland Building and Construction Commission (Opens in new window)