Damage mitigation permit - removal of wildlife - Queensland


This permit is required to carry out an activity (including commercial) involving the removal of wildlife (eg possums, snakes, magpies etc) to reduce public risk.

This permit is also required to take nuisance wildlife.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.


The licence remains in effect for not more than six months depending on the applicants requirements unless sooner revoked, suspended or surrendered. If you operate under an approved property management plan (PMP), the permit may be granted for a maximum period of three years.


No fees are payable for this permit.

Application process

How Do I Obtain It?

You can obtain this permit by completing the relevant application form ie: "Damage mitigation permit (Removal and relocation of wildlife)" or "Damage mitigation permit (culling and dispersal of wildlife)".

If you wish to submit a property management plan (PMP) for approval and receive a damage mitigation permit for up to three years please contact Permit and Licence Management on 1300 130 372 for the appropriate PMP template form to accompany this application.

What is required after applying but before approval is granted?

The property will be inspected by a Regional or District Officer.


This licence cannot be transferred.

Administering agency

Department of Environment and Science

Conservation and Sustainability Services

Conservation and Biodiversity Operations

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

Permit and Licensing Team

Conservation and Biodiversity Operations

Conservation and Sustainability Services

Department of Environment and Science

Mailing address: General Post Office Box 2454
Brisbane, Queensland
Phone: 1300 130 372
Fax: 07 3330 5875
Email: palm@des.qld.gov.au
Website: Department of Environment and Science (Opens in new window)