Food Safety Management Tools - South Australia


Food service, caterer and related retail businesses in Australia need to meet new food safety requirements in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (the Code).

Standard 3.2.2A is a new food safety standard for these types of businesses that aims to improve food safety and support consumer confidence.

There are three food safety management tools in the new standard:

All affected food businesses (category one and two businesses) must appoint a Food Safety Supervisor and implement food handler training. Category one businesses must also be able to show that their food is safe.

Category one businesses are businesses that make unpackaged potentially hazardous food into potentially hazardous, ready-to-eat food for customers, such as salads, sandwiches, curries, pizza, sushi, pastas, and soups. Category one businesses include:

  • restaurants
  • caterers
  • cafes
  • fast-food outlets.

Category two businesses do not make but minimally handle and sell ready-to-eat unpackaged food, such as smallgoods, cream buns, sandwiches or pies and pasties that has arrived unpackaged or is unpackaged by the business. Category two businesses include:

  • delis
  • market stalls
  • supermarkets
  • butchers.

Service type

Regulatory Obligation

An obligation defined in law. A business must comply with relevant services.

Other resources

Administering agency

SA Health

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.