Marine Pilot's Licence - South Australia


You will need this licence if you are a pilot and you intend to navigate vessels more than 35 metres in length within prescribed compulsory pilotage areas. Prescribed areas include:

  • Port Adelaide
  • Port Augusta
  • Port Bonython
  • Port Giles
  • Port Lincoln
  • Port Pirie
  • Thevenard
  • Wallaroo
  • Whyalla.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for this licence you must:

  • hold a certificate of competency (or equivalent)
  • hold a seafarer's certificate (or equivalent)
  • have experience or knowledge in relation to the operation of vessels in the relevant harbor (which may require you to pass an examination)
  • meet the required eyesight standards
  • meet the required medical standards.


As specified


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application All Please contact the agency for more information.

Administering agency

Department for Infrastructure and Transport

Marine Safety

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.