Pilotage Exemption Certificate - South Australia


You will need this certificate if you are the master of a vessel, and you intend to navigate a vessel over 35 metres in length through a prescribed compulsory pilotage area. Prescribed areas include:

  • Port Adelaide
  • Port Augusta
  • Port Bonython
  • Port Giles
  • Port Lincoln
  • Port Pirie
  • Thevenard
  • Wallaroo
  • Whyalla.

Pilotage exemption certificates exist for the following categories:

  • category 1 - vessels up to 65 metres in length
  • category 2 - vessels up to 155 metres in length
  • category 3 - vessels up to 185 metres in length.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible for this certificate, you must:

  • hold a certificate of competency for a vessel of the relevant length category
  • have undertaken a qualifying voyage or voyages.


As specified


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Amount Description
Apply Licence All $740.00

Fees for 2023-24

General Duplicate Certificate All $69.00

Fees for 2023-24

Renew Renewal All $368.00

Fees for 2023-24

Administering agency

Department for Infrastructure and Transport

Marine Safety

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.