Mental Health Personnel Approval - Tasmania


You will need this approval if you intend to undertake particular activities related to mentally-ill patients. There are three types of approved persons:

  • medical practitioners - approved medical practitioners undertake activities such as determining whether patients should be admitted as involuntary patients and discharging treatment orders
  • nurses - approved nurses undertake activities relating to seclusion and restraint of involuntary patients and forensic patients in approved facilities
  • mental health officers - approved mental health officers undertake activities relating to protective custody and patient escort.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible to be an approved medical practitioner, you must either be a:

  • psychiatrist
  • medical practitioner who is otherwise qualified or experienced in the diagnosis or treatment of mental illness.

To be eligible to be an approved nurse, you must be a registered nurse who is suitably qualified or experienced in the treatment or care of persons with mental illness.

To be eligible to be an approved mental health officer, you must have the relevant skills, qualifications or experience for the prescribed responsibilities.


Five years unless it is revoked earlier


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application All

You do not need to pay any fees.

Act(s) name

Mental Health Act 2013 Tasmania

Approval time

Approved Medical Practitioners, Mental Health Officers and Approved Nurses are usually approved within 2 business days.

Administering agency

Department of Health

Office of the Chief Psychiatrist

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.