Adventure Activity Standards (AAS) - Victoria


The Adventure Activity Standards are minimum standard guidelines for organisations conducting outdoor recreation activities for dependent groups, where participants have a level of dependence upon the leader. They were developed in order to help people undertake adventure activities in a manner that is safe for both participants, providers and the environment, protect providers against legal liability claims and assist providers in obtaining insurance cover.

Adventure Activity Standards are currently available for the following activities:

  • abseiling
  • artificial climbing and abseiling walls
  • bushwalking
  • canoeing and kayaking
  • challenge ropes courses
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • downhill skiing and snowboarding
  • horse riding
  • orienteering
  • overnight camping
  • rafting
  • recreational swimming
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving
  • sea kayaking
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • water skiing
  • windsurfing.

Adventure Activity Standards also provide supplementary information on legal aspects, severe weather conditions, incident reporting and food issues.

Service type

Advisory Material

Advisory material provides advice and guidance in undertaking a business.

Other resources

Task Business Structure Resources
Comply All List of Adventure Activity Standards (Opens in new window)

Administering agency

Department of Education and Training

Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Supporting information