Hazardous Area Authority - Victoria


You will this authority if you want approval to drive a vehicle with thirteen or more seats (including the driver) in a hazardous area. Hazardous areas tend to be in Victorian Alpine regions during snow season. The following areas have been declared as hazardous:

  • Falls Creek
  • Lake Mountain
  • Licola Area
  • Mt Baw Baw
  • Mt Buffalo
  • Mt Buller
  • Mt Donna Buang
  • Mt Hotham
  • Mt Saint Gwinear
  • Mt Stirling
  • Mt Tamboritha
  • Mt Torbreck

This authority does not include vehicles that move on caterpillar tracks, which are designed specifically for travelling over snow.

Please consult the responsible agency for more information and to ascertain the level of compliance (if any) that may be required.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.

Eligibility requirements

To be eligible to drive in hazardous areas, you must:

  • complete a one and a half day re assessment of skills associated with bus operations in hazardous areas
  • complete a statutory declaration which states that the driver has driven a bus in a hazardous area at least five times during the last two snow seasons.

Please consult the responsible agency for more information regarding eligibility requirements.


Issued for a six year period.


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application All

No fees are required.


Task Business Structure Resources
Apply All Application for Hazardous Area Authority - Please consult the responsible agency for information on forms to be submitted.

Act(s) name

Road Safety Act 1986 Victoria

Regulation(s) name

Road Safety (Vehicles) Regulations 2009 Victoria

Administering agency

Department of Transport


Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Please use these contact details for help or more information:

Registration and Licensing


Department of Transport

Contact us other: 13 11 71
Phone: 03 8391 3216