Hazardous Area Authority - Victoria


You will this authority if you want approval to drive a vehicle with thirteen or more seats (including the driver) in a hazardous area. Hazardous areas tend to be in Victorian Alpine regions during snow season. The following areas have been declared as hazardous:

  • Falls Creek
  • Lake Mountain
  • Licola Area
  • Mt Baw Baw
  • Mt Buffalo
  • Mt Buller
  • Mt Donna Buang
  • Mt Hotham
  • Mt Saint Gwinear
  • Mt Stirling
  • Mt Tamboritha
  • Mt Torbreck.

This authority does not include vehicles that move on caterpillar tracks, which are designed specifically for travelling over snow.

Please consult the responsible agency for more information and to ascertain the level of compliance (if any) that may be required.

Service type


A licence defines the need to obtain recognition / certification and registration to undertake a certain business activity.


Issued for a six year period.


Fees Details for this service in table format.

Task Type Business Structure Description
Apply Application Sole Trader, Company, Partnership, Trust, Incorporated Association, Other, Co-operative

No fees are required.


Task Resources
Apply Application for Hazardous Area Authority - Please consult the responsible agency for information on forms to be submitted.

Administering agency

Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources


Contact details

Contact Email, Phone and Address Details for this service in simple two column table format, header then data.

Operating address: 60 Denmark Street
Victoria 3101
Operating address: PO BOX 1644
Melbourne, Victoria 3001
Phone: 03 8391 3216
Phone: 13 11 71
Website: http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au (Opens in new window)